REPORT OF THE HOCKEY TOURNAMENT HELD DURING THE YEAR 2021-22

Title of the Hockey Tournament: XXII Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2021-22

Organised by Hockey Association of Chota Nagpur Tribals, Delhi (Regd.)

Chief Guest: Rev.Fr. Vincent D'Souza Vicar General, Archdiocese of Delhi

Guests of Honour: Rev Fr Nicholas Barla SVD CBCI Office Tribal Affairs

Distinguished Guests: Madam Pravin Horo Singh IIS Additional Director General Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Dr. Daisy Panna Kerketta Epidemiologist M/o Health & FW, Mrs. Balamdina Lakra Principal (Retd.), Directorate of Education Delhi Government & Mrs. Jemma Lakra Manager Oriental Insurance Company Ltd.

2. As many as 16 tribal men hockey teams of Delhi & NCR have participated in this tournament. Teams were divided into 4 Groups of 4 teams each as per the following:

A	В	С	D
JCO R K Puram	C N Blues	Ekta Club	NCR
South City	Kotla Sahara	City Club	Dwarka
Noida A	Chirag Delhi	Good Shepherd	Ayanagar
M M Masihgarh	Noida B	Srinivaspuri	Jharkhand Club

The **XXII Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2021-22** held in the week ends between 27th March 2022 and 8th May 2022 in Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi. The matches were played as per the following:

Venue: Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi – 110001

League Matches held on - 27th March 2022, 2nd , 3rd , 9th , 10th and 23rd April 2022 February 2019.

Knock-out matches held on – 24^{th} & 30^{th} April 2022 and 1^{st} , 7^{th} and 8^{th} May 2022

Final Match held on 8th May 2022

- 3. The initial round of matches was played on round robin / league basis in each group and all 16 teams joined in the Knock-out matches i.e. Pre-Quarter Finals matches and Quarter Final matches. The results of Quarter Final (QF) matches were given as under:
 - a) **1**st **Quarter Final**: Delhi NCR Hockey Team defeated Kotla Sahara Hockey by 7-2 goals
 - b) **2nd Quarter Final**: C N Blues Hockey Team defeated Dwarka Hockey Team by 6-1 goals
 - c) **3rd Quarter Final**: M M Masihgarh Hockey Team defeated City Club Hockey Team by 3-1 goals (1-1 regulation time) goals via tie-breaker
 - d) **4th Quarter Final**: Ayanagar Hockey team defeated Ekta Club Team by 2 -1.

Thus, four hockey teams qualified for Semi-Finals (SF) were Ayanagar, C N Blues, Delhi NCR and M M Masihgarh. The result of Semi Final matches played was as under:

- a) 1st Semi Final: C N Blues defeated Delhi NCR Hockey Team by 3-0 goals.
- b) 2nd Semi Final: Ayanagar Hockey defeated M M Masihgarh by 4-3 goals
- 4. The **Final Match** of the XXII Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2021-22 was held on 8th May 2022 at Shivaji Hockey Stadium, Synthetic Turf Ground, New Delhi between C N Blues Hockey Team and

Ayanagar Hockey Team. The Chief Guest of the Final Match was **Rev.Fr. Vincent D'Souza Vicar General, Archdiocese of Delhi** and Guests of Honour Rev Fr Nicholas Barla SVD CBCI Office Tribal Affairs. Distinguished Guests include Madam Pravin Horo Singh IIS Additional Director General Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation, Dr. Daisy Panna Kerketta Epidemiologist M/o Health & FW, Mrs. Balamdina Lakra Principal (Retd.), Directorate of Education Delhi Government & Mrs. Jemma Lakra Manager Oriental Insurance Company Ltd.

Large no. of supporters of both the teams were present to cheer the players and the teams.

- 5. Before the match, Chief Guest, Guest of Honour and Distinguished Guests were welcomed by the President Shri Sushil Lakra, Secretary Shri Nicholas Xalxo and other Office bearers of the Hockey Association of Chota Nagpur Tribals.. The final match was inaugurated by all dignitaries for the introduction of players of both the hockey teams. In the fast paced match Ayanagar team opened the account on 16th minute of the game through field goal by Anuj Minj. In reply C N Blues scored three goals in 22nd, 31st and 42nd minutes through hat trick by Bijay Kusuma. Apart from these goals one goal each scored by both the teams, thus making the score line 4-2 in favour of C N Blues. The match was enjoyed by all as both the teams play whole heartedly to win.
- 6. Before the Final Match, a match was played between M M Masingarh Hockey Team and Delhi NCR to decide third position. M M Masingarh defeated Delhi NCR Hockey Team by 2-1 goals.
- 7. After the match, the prize distribution ceremony took place and cash awards announced to the winner i.e. C N Blues, runners up team i.e. Ayanagar Hockey Team and 3rd placed team i.e. M M Masihgarh of Rs. 50,000/-, Rs.25,000/- and Rs.15,000/- respectively by the Chief Guest,

Guest of Honour and Distinguished Guests. The championship trophy was handed over to C N Blues Hockey Team by the Chief Guest. Bijay Kusuma of C N Blues was adjudged the Best Player of the Tournament on scoring three goals for his team in the final match to become the champion.

8. Chief Guest Rev Fr Vincent D'Souza VG Archdiocese of Delhi gave the message that no team is winner or loser, but everyone undergoes learning process throughout the course of tournament and it is applicable to the players and audience too. On this occasion Guest of Honour Rev Fr Nicholas Barla SVD underlined the need of professional approach towards the game of hockey as tribal community has lot of hidden talents on its shelf.
