Title of the Hockey Tournament: XX Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2019 (February - March 2019)

Organised by Hockey Association of Chota Nagpur Tribals, Delhi (Regd.)

Venue: Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi – 110001

League & Knock-Out matches – 3rd, 9th, 10th, 16th, 17th, 23rd, 24th February 2019 and 2nd, 3rd, 9th, 10th, 16th & 17th March, 2019

Final Match held on 17th March 2019

Chief Guest: Shri Ajay Tirkey, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development, Government of India

Guests of Honour: Shri Jyackson Samaria, Wing Commodore, Indian Air Force and Others

The **XX Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2018-19** held in the week ends between 3rd February to 17th March 2019 in Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi. The matches were played as per the following:

League Matches held on -3^{rd} , 9^{th} , 10^{th} , 16^{th} , 17^{th} and 23^{rd} February 2019.

Knock-out matches held on – 24th February, 2019 and 2nd, 3rd, 9th, 10th, 16th & 17th March, 2019

2. As many as **24 tribal men hockey teams** of Delhi & NCR had participated in this tournament. Teams were divided into 2 Groups and further divided in 8 sub-groups of 4 teams each in one sub-group as per the following:

Group I	Group II		

Α	В	С	D	Е	F	G	Н
Delhi	Noida B	Najafgarh	Dwarka	Kotla B	AAAS	Masihg	Ekta
NCR						arh A	Club
Simdega	Kotla A	Tribal	Pakritoli	Noida A	Energetic	C N	Sriniva
XI		Warriors				Blues	spuri
Birsa	Sangam	Masihgarh	JCO	Hockey	City Club	Mayur	М В
Club	Vihar	В		Spirit		Club	Club

- 3. The initial round of matches was played on round robin / league basis in each group and all 24 teams joined in the Knock-out matches i.e. Cross Over matches, Pre-Quarter Final matches and Quarter Final matches. The results of Quarter Final (QF) matches were given as under:
 - a) **1**st **Quarter Final**: AAAS Hockey Team defeated Hockey Spirit Team by 4-1 (1-1 regulation time) goals via tie-breaker.
 - b) **2nd Quarter Final**: Masihgarh Hockey Team defeated NOIDA Hockey Team by 6-0 goals
 - c) **3rd Quarter Final**: NCR Hockey Team defeated Kotla Hockey Team by 5-2 goals
 - d) **4th Quarter Final**: JCO Club Hockey defeated Tribal Warriors Hockey Team by 6-5 (2-2 regulation time) goals via tie-breaker.

Thus, four teams qualified for Semi-Finals (SF) were AAAS Hockey Team, Masingarh Hockey Team, NCR Hockey Team and JCO Club Hockey. The result of Semi Final matches played was as under:

- a) 1st Semi Final: NCR Hockey Team defeated AAAS Hockey Team by 5-2 goals.
- b) **2nd Semi Final**: Masihgarh Hockey Team defeated JCO Club Hockey by 7-1 goals

- 4. The **Final Match** of the XX Chotanagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2018-19 was held on 17th March 2019 at Shivaji Hockey Stadium, Synthetic Turf Ground, New Delhi between NCR Hockey Team and Masingarh Hockey Team. The Chief Guest of the Final Match was **Shri Ajay** Tirkey, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development, Government of India. Guests of Honour include Shri Jyackson Samaria, Wing Commander, Indian Air Force, Shri Ranjit Tigga, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Delhi Police, Shri James Minj, Chief Manager, Punjab National Bank, New Delhi, Shri Alexius Lakra, Manager, MECON Ltd. and a former international player, Shri Aloke Michyari, Head Tribal Development Department, YMCA, Shri Kulranjan Toppo, a Senior Officer in the Tata Power Co. Former International Women Hockey Players represented the country namely Ms. Bimla Kujur, Ms. Mary Stella Tirkey and Ms. Ferdina Ekka and Mrs. Balamdina Tirkey, Vice Principal of Sarvodaya Kanya Vidyalaya, New Delhi. A sizable match viewer and supporters were present to cheer the players and the teams.
- 5. Before the match, Distinguished Guests were welcomed by the hockey players. The final match was inaugurated by **Shri Ajay Tirkey, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development** & Distinguished Guests with the introduction of both the finalists in the ground. The match started at very fast note with the attacks and counter attacks by both the teams. NCR Hockey Team mostly with experienced players did the first goal by Mathias in the 3rd minute of the game. Masihgarh Hockey Team equalised the goal in the swift counter attack by Mathadius in the 4th minute of the game. NCR Hockey Team increased the lead by 2-1 scoring a goal by Abhas in 19th minute. After the lemon break NCR Hockey Team added one more goal in 43rd minute. Masihgarh Hockey Team got one consolation goal through Mittan in 58th minute of the game. Thus, NCR Hockey Team won the Trophy defeating Masihgarh Hockey Team by 3 goals to 2.

- 6. Before the Final Match, a match was played between AAAS Hockey Team and JCO Club Hockey to decide third position. JCO Club Hockey defeated AAAS Hockey Team by 5-2 goals.
- 7. After the match, the prize distribution ceremony took place and cash awards announced to winner i.e. NCR Hockey Team, runners up team i.e. Masihgarh Hockey Team and 3rd placed team i.e. JCO Club Hockey of Rs. 50,000/-, Rs.25,000/- and Rs.15,000/- respectively. A consolation prize of Rs. 10,000/- has been announced to AAAS Hockey Team. The championship trophy was handed over to NCR Hockey Team. Display cheques were handed over to above teams by the Chief Guest Shri Ajay Tirkey, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development & all other Distinguished Guests. The Best Player of the Tournament prize consisting of memento and cash prize of Rs.5,000/- awarded to Mathadius of Masihgarh Hockey Team for his all-round performance.
