REPORT OF THE HOCKEY TOURNAMENT HELD DURING THE YEAR 2016-17

Title of the Hockey Tournament: XIX Chotanagpur Tribal Hockey Tournament 2016 (July-August)

Organised by Hockey Association of Chota Nagpur Tribals, Delhi (Regd.)

Venue: Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi - 110001

Chief Guest: Shri Mahali Livinus Tirkey, Energetic Leader in Tribal (Oraon) Literary, Arts & Culture

Guest of Honour: Shri Francis Xavier Xaxa, Senior Tribal Officer in the Ministry of External Affairs (Retd.)

The XIX CHOTA NAGPUR TRIBAL MEN HOCKEY TOURNAMENT 2016 held between 3rd July to 21st August in MDC National Stadium and Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi. The matches were played at Shivaji Stadium, New Delhi as per the following:

League Matches held on – 3rd, 9th, 10th, 16th, 17th, 23rd, 24th, 30th & 31st July 2016 and 6th August 2016

Knock-out matches held on - 7th, 13th, 14th, 20th & 21st August 2016

Final Match held on 21st August 2016

2. As many as 24 tribal men hockey teams of Delhi & NCR had participated in this tournament. Teams were divided in four Groups of 6 teams.

| Group A | Group B | Group C | Group D |
|---------|---------|---------|---------|
| | | | |

| Jharkhand | NOIDA | Tribal Worriers | Sarita Vihar |
|---------------|--------------|--------------------|-----------------|
| Masihgarh B | Srinivaspuri | St. John | Delhi NCR |
| C N Blues | City Club | AAAS | Mayur Club B |
| Chirag Delhi | Ekta Club | Barla XI | Hira Raji |
| Hockey Spirit | Mayur Club A | Masihgarh A | D C Kotla |
| H S Munirka | Najafgarh | JCO (Kujur) | Dwarka |

The initial round of matches were played on round – robin / league basis in each group and first four teams of each Group joined in the Pre-Quarter Final matches. The results of Quarter Final (QF) Matches played were as under:

1st Quarter Final: Hockey Spirit defeated Tribal Warriors by 4-0 goals 2nd Quarter Final: Srinivaspuri Sports defeated JCO by 6-5 goals 3rd Quarter Final: Jharkhand Sports defeated AAAS by 3-2 goals 4th Quarter Final: Masihgarh Sports defeated Mayur Club by 4-1 goals

Thus four teams qualified for Semi-Finals (SF) were Jharkhand Sports, Hockey Spirit, Masihgarh and Srinivaspuri. The result of Semi Final matches played was as under:

1st Semi Final: Hockey Spirit defeated Jharkhand by

2nd Semi Final: Masihgarh Sports defeated Srinivaspuri Sports by 5-4 goals

3. The final match of the XIX Chota Nagpur Tribal Men Hockey Tournament 2016 was held on 21st August 2016 at Shivaji Hockey Stadium,

Synthetic Turf Ground, New Delhi between Tribal Warriors and Jharkhand Sports Hockey team. The Chief Guest of the final match was Shri Mahali Livinus Tirkey, Energetic Leader in Tribal (Oraon) Literary, Arts & Culture. Guest of Honour Shri S Krishnaswamy Senior Manager M/s LMW Ltd. and Guest of Honour Shri Francis Xavier Xaxa, Senior Tribal Officer in the Ministry of External Affairs (Retd.). Distinguished Guests include Shri Stephan Ekka, Chief Manager Indian Oil Corporation, Fr. Victor D'Souza Patron, International women hockey players namely Ms. Bimla Kujur, Ms. Mari Stella Tirkey and Ms. Ferdina Ekka, Shri Radhey Shyam Sharma, MCD Counsellor Vasant Vihar, Fr. Kujur Fr. Ranjit Toppo,s.j. Head of the Tribal Department of Indian Social Institute, New Delhi, Fr. Vincent Ekka, s.j. an scholar of Jawaharlal Nehru University and Nabore Ekka, a reknowned Tribal Leader. People of NGOs relating to development of tribal people were also present. A sizable match viewer and supporters were present to cheer the players and the teams on the final match.

4. Before the match, Distinguished Guests were welcomed by traditional cultural group dance by Salomi Cultural Group of Friends Colony led by Shri Kulranjan Toppo. The final match was inaugurated by Shri Shanti Priye Beck, Joint Secretary, Central Information Commission & Distinguished Guests with the introduction of both the teams. The match started at very fast note with the attacks and counter attacks by both the teams. Jharkhand Sports Club mostly with experienced players expected to dominate the game but it is Tribal Warriors which forged ahead with the swift counter attack goal by its captain Suman at 17th minute of the match. The equalizer came in the 28th minute by Sachin of Jharkhand Sports. After the lemon break Jharkhand added three goals in 40th, 44th and 47th minute by Sachin and experienced player Jolen Topno (2 goals). Tribal warriors responded two goals through Anuj Tirkey and Manoj Xalxo in 49th and 54th minute respectively. Last goal scored by Prakash Jojo of Jharkhand Sports I 55th minute. Thus Jharkhand Sports won the Trophy defeating Tribal Warriors by 5 goals to 3 goals. Before the Final Match, a

match was played between NOIDA and DLF Phase III to decide third position. As opponent was off-colour on this day, NOIDA easily defeated DLF Phase III by 3-0.

5. After the match, the prize distribution ceremony took place and cash awards announced to winner i.e. Jharkhand Sports Hockey Club, runners up team i.e. Tribal Warriors and 3rd placed team i.e. NOIDA of Rs. 50,000/-, Rs.25,000/- and Rs.10,000/- respectively. A consolation prize of Rs. 7,500/- has been announced to DLF Phase III. The championship trophy was handed over to Jharkhand Sports Hockey Club. Display cheques were handed over to above teams by Ranjit Tiggaji, Vincent Ekkaji and Norbert Xalxoji. The Best Player of the Tournament prize consisting of memento and cash prize of Rs.5,000/- awarded to Jolen Topno of Jharkhand Sports for his all-round performance, intelligent scheme and scoring of 2 field goals for his team. Chirag Delhi Hockey team declared as Most Disciplined team in the tournament and given memento and cash prize of Rs.5,000/-. Salomi Cultural Group was also given the memento for their beautiful presentation. In the end, Ranjit Tiggaji appreciated the organiser to conduct such events for the benefit of tribal people.

New Initiative

- 6. The Association has started new initiative to promote the tribal upcoming umpires to supervise the matches as per the standards laid down by Hockey India. To start with two prospective umpires Shri Nirmal Ekka and Shri Suman Tirkey both from Surguja Hockey Ambikapur were invited by the Association for the following purposes:
 - 1. To learn the basics of umpiring in consultation with the umpires and Tournament Director appointed by Hockey India during the matches played.
 - 2. To watch the matches, learn umpiring signals and basic rules of the game of hockey both theoretically & practically

- 3. To clear the doubts on rules and situation under which penalty corner & penalty stroke are awarded
- 4. To know how to fill the match sheet & other forms as per Hockey India directives
- 5. To learn how to handle irritating players on the ground during the game
- 7. Shri Nirmal Ekka and Shri Suman Tirkey came to Delhi and remained present on the ground and carefully saw all the matches and discussed at length with the umpires & Tournament Director appointed by Hockey India on 5th and 6th March 2016. According to them it was their great learning experience and they stated that they will give more focus and wanted to become the team of umpires in the next tournament organized by the Hockey Association of Chota Nagpur Tribals in July & August 2016.
